Follow by Email

Sunday, May 28, 2017

The Cellar


Book #42 Read in 2017
The Cellar by Natasha Preston

This was a creepy good read.  Summer is kidnapped by a man who calls himself "Clover".  He renames Summer as Lily to go with his other "flowers":  Rose, Poppy and Violet--three more girls he has kidnapped and keeps in his cellar.  His goal is to keep his "family" together forever.  Sometimes, he brings girls off the streets into the cellar to kill them to rid the world of some evil.  Summer's family and boyfriend continue to look for her in the hopes of finding her alive.  Will they do so in time?  A sequel to this book, which I already ordered, is coming out next year.  High school and adult readers alike will enjoy this gripping thriller.

Friday, May 26, 2017

Swimming Lessons


Book #41 Read in 2017
Swimming Lessons by Claire Fuller

Flora's father Gil falls and he says it is because he saw his long-disappeared and presumed-dead wife Ingrid.  Flora returns home to check on her father and to see if her mother has returned.  Gil and Ingrid had a complicated marriage and the effects are lasting on Flora.  This book was a decent read.  I borrowed it from the public library.

Sunday, May 21, 2017

I Hate Everyone....Except You


Book #40 Read in 2017
I Hate Everyone, Except You by Clinton Kelly

I sometimes watched the TV show "What Not to Wear" and even though I do not cook, I will turn "The Chew" on if I am home on a weekday, so I enjoyed Kelly's snark and sarcasm and figured I would try his book of essays.  At times while reading, I snickered, smiled and laughed.  Kelly covers a lot of topics with honesty and snark and it made for an enjoyable read.  I finished the book in a day.  I borrowed the book from the public library.

Friday, May 19, 2017

A Court of Wings and Ruin


Book #39 Read in 2017
A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas

This is the third in a fantasy series that is geared for young adults but adult readers love as well.  In this one, Feyre and Rhys are once again working together to save their friends and their land.  There is lots of romantic tension between the pair but the graphic sex scenes from book 2 are not a main part of this book.  This book had lots of action, humor and interesting characters.  A great series which I highly recommend to high school and adult readers.

Friday, May 12, 2017

Into the Water

Book #38 Read in 2017
Into the Water by Paula Hawkins

Similar to Girl on the Train, this book is full of not very nice characters.  That being said, this book did not grab me as quickly as the other.  I did not care about any of the characters.  The story line was that this small town has women, descendants of witches, who drown themselves.  Or is it murder?  Told from alternating points of view, the mystery was decent but I was disappointed in this book overall.  I borrowed this book from my town library.

Sunday, May 7, 2017

We Are Okay


Book #37 Read in 2017
We Are Okay by Nina LaCour

Marin is spending Christmas break at the dorm.  She is trying to avoid going home at all costs.  Her best friend, Mabel, comes to visit and try to convince Marin to come back home with her.  But Mabel does not know the whole story of why Marin left and Marin is reluctant to tell her.  Will she?  Will doing so help her to begin to heal?  This was a decent quick read and the characters were interesting but the plot, to me, was not fully developed. I received this book from Amazon Vine in exchange for a honest review.


Saturday, May 6, 2017

Poison's Kiss


Book #36 Read in 2017
Poison's Kiss by Breanna Shields

This book would be perfect for fans of The Sin Eater's Daughter series.  Marinda is an assassin, able to kill someone with just a kiss....a kiss that is poison.  It has been her way of life since she was young. As she gets older, and meets Devin, she begins to question how this can be a right way of life and how she can escape with her younger, sickly brother Mani.  This book had decent twists and turns and interesting characters, along with romance and action.  I believe there will be a sequel, which I will read.  I received this book from Amazon Vine in exchange for a honest review.