Follow by Email

Wednesday, August 20, 2014

The Big Kitty


Book #77 Read in 2014
The Big Kitty by Claire Donally

This is the first book in a cozy mystery series.  Sunny returns to her hometown after her father suffers a heart attack.  She finds an office job while still trying to free lance as a reporter.  Her first story is about the town's cat lady, who claims to have hit the lottery but she cannot find her ticket.  The cat lady dies.  One of her cats, Shadow, adopts Sunny.  Sunny decides that the cat lady was really murdered and teams up with local police officer Will to investigate.  This is not without danger and Sunny gets herself into some jams.

The Big Kitty was a decent cozy.  Sunny predictably got herself into some hot water and needed rescuing but that's par for the cozy course.  Shadow was a great sidekick.  Overall, a good read and I have book #2 in my TBR pile.

Tuesday, August 19, 2014

Falling Into Place (YA)


Book #76 Read in 2014
Falling into Place by Amy Zhang (YA)

This young adult novel will appeal to fans of If I Stay and Thirteen Reasons Why.  Liz has decided to kill herself but plans on driving her car off the road to make it look like an accident.  Liz, while popular in high school, realizes that she has not always been a nice person.  Of course, she feels abandoned both by her father who died recently and her mother who threw herself into work to overcome grief, so that does not help her mental state at all.  Told in alternating locations of the hospital and flashbacks of days and weeks leading up to the accident, Zhang details the happenings of a teenage girl. 

Add to this that the author is a high school student and it makes the novel that much more of a success.  It is well written and the flashback format does not hinder the plot.  The characters are very realistic as are the situations they experience.  It was a good read.  I received this book from the Amazon Vine program in exchange for a honest review.

Monday, August 18, 2014

Mortal Danger (YA)


Book #75 Read in 2014
Mortal Danger by Ann Aguirre (YA)

This is the first book in what seems to be destined to become an excellent young adult series.  Edie is on the bridge ready to jump off--literally--when handsome Kian stops her and says he has a deal for her.  He will grant her three wishes in return for three favors.  Her first is a makeover, in the hopes of being able to escape the bullying of her private school classmates.  Upon return to school in the fall, Edie is fit, trim and pretty.  The same crowd who harassed her begins to accept her...which will allow her to give the payback that she wants them to receive.  Of course, selling your soul comes with a price and there is collateral damage along the way.

I read this book in a day.  The plot was engaging and quick moving.  Edie is an intelligent character which is a nice change.  This book had a good balance of action, humor, fantasy and romance.  I will definitely read the second book.

Wednesday, August 13, 2014

Innocent Blood


Book #74 Read in 2014
Innocent Blood by James Rollins and Rebecca Cantrell

This is the second in the series.  The prophesied trio (Rhun the Knight of Christ; Jordan the Warrior and Erin the Woman of Learning) are trying to find the First Angel so he/she can open the Blood Gospel and stop the world from ending...no pressure.  Innocent Blood, like book #1, is action-packed and hard to put down.  The main characters are joined by interesting secondary characters who have bigger roles:  Christian, Bernard, Judas, The Blood Countess.  This series is an interesting blend of military action, paranormal and spiritual; I enjoy these books.

I received this book from the Amazon Vine program in exchange for a honest review.

Sunday, August 10, 2014

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (YA) re-read


Book #73 Read in 2014
Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone by JK Rowling

This was a re-read of one of my favorite series and I loved it just as much as the first time around.  Harry Potter finds out he is a wizard and famous for surviving an interaction as a baby with Voldemort, the evil wizard.  Harry begins his first year of magical training at Hogwarts and meets all sorts of interesting people, ghosts and creatures.  This series is wonderful.

Friday, August 8, 2014

The Blood Gospel


Book #72 Read in 2014
The Blood Gospel by James Rollins and Rebecca Cantrell

This book was sort of a merge between The DaVinci Code and The Strain.  It was action-packed and had short chapters, along with an army of bad vampires and an order of vampires that are a sort of religious order.  This is the first in a series and while almost 500 pages long, was an amazingly quick read.  The main characters are Rhun (a "good" vampire), Erin (an archaeologist) and Jordan, a soldier.  They are given the task of finding a book called The Blood Gospel, believed to be written in the blood of Jesus.  Of course the bad guys all want the book too. 

This book was well-written and kept me engaged.  The characters were interesting and complex.  I will continue on with the series.

Friday, August 1, 2014

The Madman's Daughter


Book #71 Read in 2014
The Madman's Daughter by Megan Shepherd

This is the first in a series told from the point of view of Juliet, teenage daughter of Dr. Moreau.  At the beginning of this book, Juliet has been left on her own after her mother dies and her father is presumed dead.  She finds out that he is indeed alive and has Montgomery, her childhood friend and her father's lab assistant, bring her to the island where her father now resides and experiments.  Her father is more than slightly unhinged, having created a line of creatures taken from a combination of animals and which he tries to make human. 

Juliet was a good heroine; she was intelligent and brave.  This book got too much of a romantic triangle at times but the action of the plot saved it from being over the top.  I have #2 in the TBR pile.  I read this book on my Kindle.