Follow by Email

Sunday, May 21, 2017

I Hate Everyone....Except You


Book #40 Read in 2017
I Hate Everyone, Except You by Clinton Kelly

I sometimes watched the TV show "What Not to Wear" and even though I do not cook, I will turn "The Chew" on if I am home on a weekday, so I enjoyed Kelly's snark and sarcasm and figured I would try his book of essays.  At times while reading, I snickered, smiled and laughed.  Kelly covers a lot of topics with honesty and snark and it made for an enjoyable read.  I finished the book in a day.  I borrowed the book from the public library.

Friday, May 19, 2017

A Court of Wings and Ruin


Book #39 Read in 2017
A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas

This is the third in a fantasy series that is geared for young adults but adult readers love as well.  In this one, Feyre and Rhys are once again working together to save their friends and their land.  There is lots of romantic tension between the pair but the graphic sex scenes from book 2 are not a main part of this book.  This book had lots of action, humor and interesting characters.  A great series which I highly recommend to high school and adult readers.

Friday, May 12, 2017

Into the Water

Book #38 Read in 2017
Into the Water by Paula Hawkins

Similar to Girl on the Train, this book is full of not very nice characters.  That being said, this book did not grab me as quickly as the other.  I did not care about any of the characters.  The story line was that this small town has women, descendants of witches, who drown themselves.  Or is it murder?  Told from alternating points of view, the mystery was decent but I was disappointed in this book overall.  I borrowed this book from my town library.

Sunday, May 7, 2017

We Are Okay


Book #37 Read in 2017
We Are Okay by Nina LaCour

Marin is spending Christmas break at the dorm.  She is trying to avoid going home at all costs.  Her best friend, Mabel, comes to visit and try to convince Marin to come back home with her.  But Mabel does not know the whole story of why Marin left and Marin is reluctant to tell her.  Will she?  Will doing so help her to begin to heal?  This was a decent quick read and the characters were interesting but the plot, to me, was not fully developed. I received this book from Amazon Vine in exchange for a honest review.


Saturday, May 6, 2017

Poison's Kiss


Book #36 Read in 2017
Poison's Kiss by Breanna Shields

This book would be perfect for fans of The Sin Eater's Daughter series.  Marinda is an assassin, able to kill someone with just a kiss....a kiss that is poison.  It has been her way of life since she was young. As she gets older, and meets Devin, she begins to question how this can be a right way of life and how she can escape with her younger, sickly brother Mani.  This book had decent twists and turns and interesting characters, along with romance and action.  I believe there will be a sequel, which I will read.  I received this book from Amazon Vine in exchange for a honest review.

Sunday, April 30, 2017

Geekerella


Book #35 Read in 2017
Geekerella by Ashley Poston

This is a take on Cinderella.  Elle is a huge fan of a science fiction show and has a well-followed blog about it.  She begins texting with someone, not knowing it is the star of the new movie based on the show.  Elle has an evil stepmother and evil stepsisters, just like in the original tale.  Will she get her happy ever after ending?  This was a cute read and high school girls will love the romantic tale.  I borrowed this book from the town library.


Sunday, April 23, 2017

A Darkness Absolute



Book #34 Read in 2017
A Darkness Absolute by Kelley Armstrong

This is the second book in a gritty mystery series centered around Rockton, a place where people go to escape their lives and the people after them.  Casey is still working as local police, alongside her boyfriend, Sheriff Eric Dalton.  She stumbles upon a missing local woman, found in a cave in a bad state.  Casey brings her back to Rockton and begins her investigation into who did this to Nicole.  Will she be able to find out before she is the next victim?  This series is interesting and will keep readers guessing until the end.  I received this book from Amazon Vine in exchange for a honest review.