Follow by Email

Sunday, December 4, 2016

The Forgetting


Book #127 Read in 2016
The Forgetting by Sharon Cameron

Every twelve years "the forgetting" happens in Nadia's town and all of the people forget what has happened in the past 12 years, relying on what they have written down in their books to fill in the gaps.  Except Nadia.  For some reason, Nadia never forgets.  Why?  Is it a good thing or a bad thing?  Fans of Divergent and The Hunger Games will enjoy this action-packed read, with interesting characters and romance to keep readers hooked.  I received a copy of this book from Amazon Vine in exchange for a honest review.  Honestly, I highly recommend it.

Saturday, December 3, 2016


Book #126 Read in 2016
Felines of New York by Jim Tews

Yet another must read for cat lovers.  This book highlights the cats of New York--with beautiful pictures and sarcastic  commentary.  I highly recommend it to make you smile!

Friday, December 2, 2016

Cats on Instagram


Book #125 Read in 2016
Cats on Instagram

A must read and perfect gift for any cat lover!  Cute cat pictures from Instagram with little captions throughout.  I borrowed this book from the public library.

November Reads

November Reads:

1.  The Darkest Corners (YA)  4/5
2.  The Mystery of Hollow Places (YA)  4/5  library book
3.  Maus 2 4/5  2nd in series
4.  Light as a Bird (YA)  4/5
5.  Shop Cats of New York 5/5
6.  Shadow House (YA)  3/5  1st in series  library book
7.  The Last Kids on Earth (YA)  4/5  1st in series  library book
8.  The Couple Next Door (5/5)  library book
9.  Book Love (5/5)
10.  The Book Whisperer (5/5)
11.  Heartless (YA)  5/5 

124 Books Read in 2016

Sunday, November 27, 2016

Heartless



Book #124 Read in 2016
Heartless by Marissa Meyer

From the author of The Lunar Chronicles, this book is an origin story for the Queen of Hearts (Red) from Alice in Wonderland.  It provides her back story of how she became mean and heartless.  While a big book, it is a quick read because it sucks readers in immediately with great writing, wonderful characters, lots of action and romance.  I highly recommend it.

Wednesday, November 23, 2016

The Book Whisperer


Book #123 Read in 2016
The Book Whisperer by Donalyn Miller

This was a re-read.  I had read this book and taught an in-service on it years ago but felt it was time to re-read it with the focus on incorporating strategies from it into my Young Adult Literature class.  Miller instills a love of  reading into her students and fosters a community of readers in her classroom.  I hope to do the same.  I recommend this to teachers and parents.

Monday, November 21, 2016

Book Love


Book #122 Read in 2016
Book Love by Penny Kittle

This book was a great read about establishing and maintaining a community of readers in your classroom.  I shared parts of it with the students in my Young Adult Literature and would recommend it to my teaching colleagues.  I enjoyed it.