Follow by Email

Tuesday, August 19, 2014

Falling Into Place (YA)


Book #76 Read in 2014
Falling into Place by Amy Zhang (YA)

This young adult novel will appeal to fans of If I Stay and Thirteen Reasons Why.  Liz has decided to kill herself but plans on driving her car off the road to make it look like an accident.  Liz, while popular in high school, realizes that she has not always been a nice person.  Of course, she feels abandoned both by her father who died recently and her mother who threw herself into work to overcome grief, so that does not help her mental state at all.  Told in alternating locations of the hospital and flashbacks of days and weeks leading up to the accident, Zhang details the happenings of a teenage girl. 

Add to this that the author is a high school student and it makes the novel that much more of a success.  It is well written and the flashback format does not hinder the plot.  The characters are very realistic as are the situations they experience.  It was a good read.  I received this book from the Amazon Vine program in exchange for a honest review.

No comments:

Post a Comment