Follow by Email

Saturday, December 31, 2016

The Memory of Things


Book #140 Read in 2016
The Memory of Things by Gae Polisner

This book is set in New York City on 9/11.  Kyle crosses the bridge and makes it home when the towers fell.  His dad is a first responder and is at Ground Zero.  Kyle found this teen girl alone and wandering and brings her home with him.  Who is she? Did she lose her parents in the towers?  This book realistically portrays the horrors and the heroes of 9/11.  A recommended read for high school and adult readers.  I borrowed this book from the public library.

Thursday, December 29, 2016

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix


Book #139 Read in 2016
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling (re-read)

This is the fifth book in the Harry Potter series.  In this book, the Order is once again fighting against Lord Voldemort.  Harry is still struggling with being the Chosen One.  This book has good action, great characters and continues to develop wonderful storylines.

Murder Most Howl


Book #138 Read in 2016
Murder Most Howl by Krista Davis

This is the third book in a cozy mystery series.  Holly is running the Wagtail Inn while her grandmother is on vacation.  Of course a murder happens not long after and Holly begins her own investigation.  This series has an intelligent main character, interesting secondary characters, a cozy inn setting and cute animals who are part of the story.  It is one of my favorite cozy series.

Wednesday, December 28, 2016

Dash and Lily's Book of Dares


Book #137 Read in 2016
Dash and Lily's Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

A reader has to love a book that is set partially in The Strand, one of NYC's famous bookstores.  Lily leaves a red notebook there for someone to find and Dash is that someone.  The two begin a written communication and book of dares that eventually leads them to meet.  Will they begin a friendship?  A romance?  Both?  A nice YA Christmas-time romance book that I highly recommend to high school and adult readers alike.  I borrowed this book from the public library and the sequel is on its way to the library for me.

Monday, December 26, 2016

Wonder Woman at Super Hero High


Book #136 Read in 2016
Wonder Woman at Super Hero High by Lisa Yee

This is the first in a young adult series.  This is a series set in a high school for super heroes in the making.  Wonder Woman leaves Paradise Island to enroll in this school and her sheltered upbringing causes some moments of confusion for her to fit in to school.  This was a good quick read that middle school readers, as well as high school readers, as well as adult readers would enjoy.  I borrowed this book from the public library.

Sunday, December 25, 2016

In the Footsteps of Crazy Horse


Book #135 Read in 2016
In the Footsteps of Crazy Horse by Joseph Marshall III

This is a good way for younger readers to learn about Crazy Horse.  Battle details are told in between Jimmy's road trip with his grandfather.  This makes the book flow well and won't bog down readers with the historical details.  I borrowed this book from the public library.

Saturday, December 24, 2016

The Plot to Kill Hitler


Book #134 Read in 2016
The Plot to Kill Hitler by Patricia McCormick

Famous young adult literature author McCormick takes on a non-fiction piece in this book.  This is geared towards young adult readers and details a conspiracy by Germans to kill Hitler to stop his madness against Jewish people.  It was a quick read and was written in a way that made it seem like fiction rather than a textbook.  Young adult readers would appreciate that.  I borrowed this book from the public library.

Tuesday, December 20, 2016

What Light


Book #133 Read in 2016
What Light by Jay Asher

This is a sweet love story that is a perfect Christmas read.  Sierra's parents head to CA one month a year to run their Christmas tree farm.  Sierra, this year, meets up with Caleb, a local boy, and is drawn to him.  But there are rumors of his violent past and the time table that is working against them.  Will they find love in spite of the obstacles?  Great read for high school girls and adults.

Sunday, December 18, 2016

Cat Got Your Diamonds


Book #132 Read in 2016
Cat Got Your Diamonds by Julie Chase

This is the first in a cozy mystery series.  Lacy owns a pet clothing/treat shop, which was broken into and the thief was then murdered.  Lacy, at first, is a suspect which brings Jack, a detective, to her door.  Lacy begins her own investigation which places her in peril frequently but Jack tries to keep her safe.  This was a good mystery and kept me guessing as to the murderer's identity until the end.  I received a copy of this book from Amazon Vine in exchange for a honest review.

Saturday, December 17, 2016

Nickeled and Dimed to Death


Book #131 Read in 2016
Nickeled-and-Dimed to Death by Denise Swanson

This is the second installment in a cozy mystery series, where Dev owns a dime store.  In this book, her lawyer friend Boone is accused of murdering one of his clients and Dev begins her own investigation.  At the same time, she is caught between two would-be suitors:  Noah and Jake.  A good cast of secondary characters and an intelligent heroine make this a good cozy series.  I borrowed this book from the public library.

Monday, December 12, 2016

Ever the Hunted


Book #130 Read in 2016
Ever the Hunted by Erin Summerill

This was a good read.  Britt's father is killed and her best friend Cohen is the suspected murderer.  Britt must find him and bring him back to the king for justice but she realizes, once she finds him, that he is innocent.  The two pair up to find the real murderer and perhaps learn more about Britt's family in the process.  This book is a good mix of action, romance, magic and interesting characters.  High school and adult readers alike would enjoy this book.  I received a copy of this book from Amazon Vine in exchange for a honest review.

Sunday, December 11, 2016

Reading in the Wild


Book #129 Read in 2016
Reading in the Wild by Donalyn Miller (re-read)

I wanted to re-read this book in the framework of using it with my Young Adult Literature class.  Miller lives to inspire students to become wild readers--those who love reading and want to share that love with others.  I hope the same for my students.  I recommend this book to all teachers and parents, regardless of grade assignment or ages of children.  A must read!

Saturday, December 10, 2016

A Shade of Vampire


Book #128 Read in 2016
A Shade of Vampire by Bella Forrest

This is the first in a paranormal series.  When I started reading it, I thought it was going to be a 50 Shades-like book with vampires but it turned out to be a good read.  Sofia is kidnapped and taken to an island of vampires and gifted to Derek, the vampire Prince.  Derek is drawn to Sofia and not just as a meal and the two form a bond.  But will their love have a chance to deepen?  I borrowed this book from the public library.

Sunday, December 4, 2016

The Forgetting


Book #127 Read in 2016
The Forgetting by Sharon Cameron

Every twelve years "the forgetting" happens in Nadia's town and all of the people forget what has happened in the past 12 years, relying on what they have written down in their books to fill in the gaps.  Except Nadia.  For some reason, Nadia never forgets.  Why?  Is it a good thing or a bad thing?  Fans of Divergent and The Hunger Games will enjoy this action-packed read, with interesting characters and romance to keep readers hooked.  I received a copy of this book from Amazon Vine in exchange for a honest review.  Honestly, I highly recommend it.

Saturday, December 3, 2016


Book #126 Read in 2016
Felines of New York by Jim Tews

Yet another must read for cat lovers.  This book highlights the cats of New York--with beautiful pictures and sarcastic  commentary.  I highly recommend it to make you smile!

Friday, December 2, 2016

Cats on Instagram


Book #125 Read in 2016
Cats on Instagram

A must read and perfect gift for any cat lover!  Cute cat pictures from Instagram with little captions throughout.  I borrowed this book from the public library.

November Reads

November Reads:

1.  The Darkest Corners (YA)  4/5
2.  The Mystery of Hollow Places (YA)  4/5  library book
3.  Maus 2 4/5  2nd in series
4.  Light as a Bird (YA)  4/5
5.  Shop Cats of New York 5/5
6.  Shadow House (YA)  3/5  1st in series  library book
7.  The Last Kids on Earth (YA)  4/5  1st in series  library book
8.  The Couple Next Door (5/5)  library book
9.  Book Love (5/5)
10.  The Book Whisperer (5/5)
11.  Heartless (YA)  5/5 

124 Books Read in 2016